Board of Directors

WMed is a private 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation. The Board of Directors is comprised of representatives from Western Michigan University, Ascension Borgess, Bronson Healthcare, community members, and a faculty member elected by the faculty of the medical school. The Board is responsible for oversight of the medical school including adherence to the Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws. The Board has 11 Directors that includes three community members (Mr. Tolbert, Ms. Lubwama, and Ms. Shank), and an elected representative from the medical school faculty (Dr. Williams).

Edward B. MontgomeryEdward B. Montgomery, PhD
Chairman of the Board
Western Michigan University
Robert Sawyer, MDRobert G. Sawyer, MD
Interim Dean
WMU Homer Stryker M.D. School of Medicine
Larry F. TolbertLarry F. Tolbert
Retired Marketing Representative
International Association of Heat and Frost Insulators and Allied Workers, Local 47 (HFIAW)
Grace LubwamaGrace Lubwama, PhD
President and CEO
Kalamazoo Community Foundation
Consuelo Shank, WMed Board of DirectorsConsuelo Shank
Vice President, Client and Community Relations Director
PNC Bank
Jan Van Der KleyJan Van Der Kley
Vice President, Business and Finance
Western Michigan University
Douglas Apple, MD, WMed Board of DirectorsDouglas Apple, MD
Chief Clinical Officer
Ascension Michigan
Bill MannsBill Manns
President & CEO
Bronson Healthcare Group
Michael Williams, MDMichael Williams, MD
Assistant Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine
WMU Homer Stryker M.D. School of Medicine