Seminars in Investigative Medicine

Dr. Eugene Oltz
Eugene Oltz, PhD, was the featured speaker for Seminars in Investigative Medicine in January 2020.

Seminars in Investigative Medicine, which began in 2017, is a monthly seminar series at WMed that attracts nationally known speakers who have made significant advances in their field.

The series, which is held from October to May each academic year at the W.E. Upjohn M.D. Campus, serves as a gathering point for the medical school’s community of investigators, as well as investigators beyond WMed. The event was developed by Dr. Thomas L. Rothstein, chair of the Department of Investigative Medicine and director of the Center for Immunobiology, as a way to promote collaboration and new discoveries that help patients.

The event is open to the public and all members of the WMed community, and the speaker series serves to highlight the best and brightest in the field of investigative medicine.

Upcoming Speakers

Presenter Date
Jill Kramer, DDS, PhD Wednesday, October 18, 2023
Nick Chiorazzi, MD Wednesday, December 13, 2023

Recent Speakers

  • 2017-2018
    • Mark Shlomchik, MD, PhD (University of Pittsburgh)
    • Mike Cancro, PhD (University of Pennsylvania)
    • Roberta Pelanda, PhD (University of Colorado)
    • Barbara Kee, PhD (University of Chicago)
    • Gregg Silverman, MD (New York University)
    • Garnett Kelsoe, DSc (Duke University)
    • David Allman, PhD (University of Pennsylvania)
    • Nicole Baumgarth, DVM, PhD (UC-Davis)
    • Coleen McNamara, MD (UVA)
  • 2018-2019
    • Bonnie Blomberg, PhD (University of Miami)
    • Judy Lieberman MD, PhD (Harvard Medical School)
    • Patrick Wilson, PhD (University of Chicago)
    • David Scott, PhD (US University of Health Sciences)
    • Lisa Borghesi, PhD (University of Pittsburgh)
    • Ann Marshak-Rothstein, PhD (University of MA Med School)
    • Michael McHeyzer-Williams PhD (Scripps Research Institute)
  • 2019-2020
    • Grace Chen, MD (U-M)
    • Karen Haas, PhD (Wake Forest)
    • Eugene Oltz, PhD (Ohio State)
  • 2020-2021
    • Meinrad Busslinger (Res Inst Mol Path, Vienna)
    • Simon Fillatreau (Inst Necker Enfants)
  • 2021-2022
    • Bob Balderas, PhD (BD)
    • Daniel Goldstein, MD (U-M)
    • Liz Leadbetter, PhD (UT)
    • Robert Binder, PhD (University of Pittsburgh)
    • Harry Schroeder, MD, PhD (UAB)
    • Laurence Morel, PhD (UFL)
    • Jeffrey Rothstein MD, PhD (Johns Hopkins)
  • 2022-2023
    • Marcus Clark MD (University of Chicago)
    • Sami Barmada MD, PhD (U-M)
    • Momoko Yoshimoto MD, PhD (UT)
    • Bonnie Dittel, PhD (Medical College of Wisconsin)
    • John Kearney, PhD (UAB)